John Bellairs

Link to Author site

1 person recommends this author
Log in or register to recommend books


John Bellairs (1938-1991)
John Anthony Bellairs was beloved as a master of gothic young adult novels and fantasies. His series about the adventures of Lewis Barnavelt and his Uncle Jonathan, which includes The House with a Clock in its Walls, is a classic. He also wrote a series of novels featuring the character Johnny Dixon. Among the titles in that series were The Curse of the Blue Figurine; The Mummy, the Will, and the Crypt; The Spell of the Sorcerer's Skull and others. His solo novel The Face in the Frost is also regarded as a fantasy classic and among his earlier works are St. Fidgeta and Other Parodies and The Pedant and the Shuffly. He was a prolific writer, publishing more than a dozen novels before his untimely death in 1991.


Link to Author page on SFE

Essential reading

The Face in the Frost (1969)

The Curse of the Blue Figurine (1983)

View all books by John Bellairs