Gregory Benford

Link to Author site

1 person recommends this author
Log in or register to recommend books


Gregory Benford (1941 - )
A leading writer of 'Hard SF', Gregory Albert Benford was born in Alabama in 1941. He received a BSc in physics from the University of Oklahoma, followed by an MSc and PhD from the University of California, San Diego. His breakthrough novel, Timescape, won both the Nebula and John W. Campbell Memorial Awards, and he has been nominated for the Hugo Award four times and the Nebula twelve times in all categories. Benford has undertaken collaborations with David Brin and Arthur C. Clarke among others and, as one of the 'Killer Bs' (with Brin and Greg Bear) wrote one of three authorised sequels to Isaac Asimov's Foundation series. He has also written for television and served as a scientific consultant on Star Trek: The Next Generation. Gregory Benford lives in California, where he is currently Professor of Plasma Physics and Astrophysics at the University of California, Irvine, a position he has held since 1979.


Link to Author page on SFE

Essential reading

Wondering where to start with Gregory Benford? Gateway recommends beginning with the SF Masterworks - which have been selected to showcase the greatest works of modern science fiction - and then moving on to the Gateway Essentials . . .


Timescape (1980)



in_the_ocean_of_night_140px heart_of_the_comet_the_140px sailing_bright_eternity_140px
In the Ocean of Night (1977) The Heart of the Comet ([1986) Sailing Bright Eternity (1995)

View all books by Gregory Benford