Jack L. Chalker

1 person recommends this author
Log in or register to recommend books


Jack L. Chalker (1944 - 2005)
Jack Laurence Chalker was born in Baltimore, in 1944. He received an MLA from Johns Hopkins University and taught history and geography for over a decade before becoming a professional writer in 1978. He was active in the fan community from his teens and though he published work as an editor and critic, it is for his fiction that he is best known. He was a prolific author, writing across genres successfully, and was nominated for the Hugo and John W. Campbell New Writer awards, among others. His major work is The Well of Souls sequence, comprising ten books across two series, and featuring the 'godgame' narrative device that was his signature. He died in February, 2005.


Link to Author page on SFE

Essential reading

Wondering where to start with Jack L. Chalker? Gateway recommends beginning with the Gateway Essentials: titles specially chosen to highlight the best work of our many authors . . .


midnight_at_the_well_of_souls_140px spirits_of_flux_and_anchor_140px river_of_dancing_gods_the_140px lords_of_the_middle_dark_140px when_the_changewinds_blow_140px
Midnight at the Well of Souls (1977) Spirits of Flux and Anchor (1984) River of the Dancing Gods (1984) Lords of the Middle Dark (1986) When the Changewinds Blow (1987)

View all books by Jack L. Chalker