L. Sprague deCamp

2 people recommend this author
Log in or register to recommend books


Lyon Sprague de Camp was born in 1907 and died in 2000. During a writing career that spanned seven decades, he wrote over a hundred books in the areas of science fiction, fantasy, historical fiction, non-fiction and biography. Although arguably best known for his continuation of Robert E. Howard's Conan stories, de Camp was an important figure in the formative period of modern SF, alongside the likes of Isaac Asimov and Robert A. Heinlein, and was a winner of the Hugo, World Fantasy Life Achievement and SFWA Grand Master awards.


Link to Author page on SFE

Essential reading

Wondering where to start with L. Sprague de Camp? Gateway recommends beginning with the Gateway Essentials: titles specially chosen to highlight the best work of our many authors . . .


Incomplete Enchanter

incomplete_enchanter_the_140px castle_of_iron_the_140px wall_of_serpents_140px
The Incomplete Enchanter (1941) The Castle of Iron (1950) Wall of Serpents (1960)

Other Novels

lest_darkness_fall_140px land_of_unreason_140px rogue_queen_140px
Lest Darkness Fall (1941) Land of Unreason (1942) Rogue Queen (1951)


Lovecraft: A Biography (1975)

View all books by L. Sprague deCamp