Dave Duncan

Link to Author site

0 people recommend this author
Log in or register to recommend books


Dave Duncan, born in Scotland in 1933, is a Canadian citizen. He received his diploma from Dundee High School and got his college education at the University of Saint Andrews. He moved to Canada in 1955, where he still lives with his wife. He has three grown children and four grandchildren. He spent thirty years as a petroleum geologist.

He has had dozens of fantasy and science fiction novels published, among them A Rose-Red City, Magic Casement and The Reaver Road, as well as a highly praised historical novel, Daughter Of Troy, published, for commercial reasons, under the pseudonym Sarah B. Franklin. He also published the ‘Longdirk’ series of novels, Demon Sword, Demon Knight and Demon Rider, under the name Ken Hood.

In the Fall of 2007, Duncan’s 2006 novel, Children Of Chaos, was nominated for both the Prix Aurora Award and the Endeavour Award.


Link to Author page on SFE

Essential reading

Wondering where to start with Dave Duncan? Gateway recommends beginning with the Gateway Essentials: titles specially chosen to highlight the best work of our many authors . . .


The Seventh Sword

The Reluctant Swordsman (1988)
Seventh Sword: Book One

The Coming of Wisdom (1988)
Seventh Sword: Book Two

The Destiny of the Sword (1988)
Seventh Sword: Book Three


Man of His Word

Magic Casement (1990)
Man of His Word: Book One

Faery Lands Forlorn (1991)
Man of His Word: Book Two

Perilous Seas (1991)
Man of His Word: Book Three

Emperor and Clown (1992)
Man of His Word: Book Four



View all books by Dave Duncan