Tanith Lee

2 people recommend this author
Log in or register to recommend books


Tanith Lee (1947 - 2015)
Tanith Lee was born in London in 1947. She is the author of more than 70 novels and almost 300 short stories, and has also written radio plays for the BBC and two scripts for the cult television series Blake's 7. Her first short story, 'Eustace', was published in 1968, and her first children's novel The Dragon Hoard was published in 1971. In 1975 her adult fantasy epic The Birthgrave was published to international acclaim, and Lee maintained a prolific output in popular genre writing throughout her life. She twice won the World Fantasy Award, and was a Guest of Honour at numerous science fiction and fantasy conventions including the 1984 World Fantasy Convention in Ottawa, Canada. In 2009 she was awarded the prestigious title of Grand Master of Horror, and in 2013 she was given the World Fantasy Award for Lifetime Achievement. Tanith Lee was married to author and artist John Kaiine. She died in May, 2015.


Link to Author page on SFE

Essential reading

Wondering where to start with Tanith Lee? Gateway recommends beginning with the Gateway Essentials: titles specially chosen to highlight the best work of our many authors . . .



birthgrave_the_140px don-t_bite_the_sun_140px volkhavaar_140px silver_metal_lover_the_140px

The Birthgrave

Don't Bite the Sun


The Silver Metal Lover

View all books by Tanith Lee