Brian Lumley

Link to Author site

2 people recommend this author
Log in or register to recommend books


Born in County Durham in 1937, Brian Lumley joined the British Army's Royal Military Police where he served in many of the Cold War hotspots, including Berlin and Cyprus in partition days. After reaching the rank of Sergeant Major, he retired to Devon to pursue his writing career full time, and was first published in 1970. Specialising in horror fiction, his works include the well-known Necroscope series of novels and its spin-offs such as the Vampire World Trilogy and the E-Branch trilogy. He also served as the president of the Horror Writers Association from 1966 to 1997. Lumley was decorated with both the World Fantasy and Stoker awards for lifetime achievement in 2010.


Link to Author page on SFE

Essential reading

Wondering where to start with Brian Lumley? Gateway recommends beginning with the Gateway Essentials: titles specially chosen to highlight the best work of our many authors . . .



necroscope-_140px necroscope_ii-_wamphyri-_140px necroscope_iii-_the_source_140px necroscope_iv-_deadspeak_140px necroscope_v-_deadspawn_140px
Necroscope (1986) Necroscope II: Wamphyri! (1988) Necroscope III: The Source (1989) Necroscope IV: Deadspeak (1990) Necroscope V: Deadspawn (1991)

Vampire World

vampire_world_1-_blood_brothers_140px vampire_world_2-_the_last_aerie_140px vampire_world_3-_bloodwars_140px
Vampire World 1: Blood Brothers (1992) Vampire World 2: The Last Aerie (1993) Vampire World 3: Bloodwars (1994)

The Lost Years

necroscope_the_lost_years_vol_1_140px necroscope_the_lost_years_vol_2_-aka_resurgence-_140px
Nectoscope: The Lost Years Volume 1 (1995) Necroscope: The Lost Years Volume 2 (1996)


necroscope-_invaders_140px necroscope-_defilers_140px necroscope-_avengers_140px
Necroscope: Invaders (1998) Necroscope: Defilers (1999) Necroscope: Avengers (2000)

Other Necroscope Titles

Necroscope: The Touch (2006)

View all books by Brian Lumley