R. A. MacAvoy

1 person recommends this author
Log in or register to recommend books


R. A. MacAvoy (1949 - )
Roberta Ann MacAvoy was born in Ohio in 1949, and has been a full-time writer for almost 30 years. She is a highly acclaimed author of imaginative and original science fiction and fantasy novels. Her debut novel, Tea With The Black Dragon, was shortlisted for the Hugo, Nebula, World Fantasy and Philip K. Dick Awards. The year it was published, 1984, MacAvoy won the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer. Her other works include the Damiano trilogy, The Book Of Kells, Twisting The Rope and the beloved and much-praised Lens Of The World trilogy.


Link to Author page on SFE

Essential reading

Wondering where to start with R. A. MacAvoy? Gateway recommends beginning with the Gateway Essentials: titles specially chosen to highlight the best work of our many authors . . .



Tea with the
Black Dragon



View all books by R. A. MacAvoy