Robert Silverberg

Link to Author site

11 people recommend this author
Log in or register to recommend books


Robert Silverberg (1935 - )
Robert Silverberg has been a professional writer since 1955, widely known for his science fiction and fantasy stories. He is a many-time winner of the Hugo and Nebula awards, was named to the Science Fiction Hall of Fame in 1999, and in 2004 was designated as a Grand Master by the Science Fiction Writers of America. His books and stories have been translated into forty languages. Among his best known titles are Nightwings, Dying Inside, The Book Of Skulls, and the three volumes of the Majipoor Cycle: Lord Valentine's Castle, Majipoor Chronicles and Valentine Pontifex. His collected short stories, covering nearly sixty years of work, are being published in nine volumes by SF Gateway and Subterranean Press. His most recent book is Tales Of Majipoor (2013), a new collection of stories set on the giant world made famous in Lord Valentine's Castle. He and his wife Karen and an assorted population of cats, live in the San Francisco Bay Area in a sprawling house surrounded by exotic plants.


Link to Author page on SFE

Essential reading

Wondering where to start with Robert Silverberg? Gateway recommends beginning with the SF Masterworks - which have been selected to showcase the greatest works of modern science fiction - and then moving on to the Gateway Essentials . . .


downward_to_the_earth_200px book_of_skulls_the_200px dying_inside_200px
Downward to the Earth (1970) The Book of Skulls (1972) Dying Inside (1972)




lord_valentine-s_castle_140px majipoor_chronicles_140px valentine_pontifex_140px
Lord Valentine's Castle (1980) Majipoor Chronicles (1982) Valentine Pontifex (1983)

Other Titles

thorns_140px time_hoppers_the_140px hawksbill_station_140px masks_of_time_the_140px nightwings_140px man_in_the_maze_the_140px
Thorns (1967) The Time Hoppers (1967) Hawksbill Station (1968) The Masks of Time (1968) Nightwings (1969) The Man in the Maze (1969)
up_the_line_140px tower_of_glass_140px time_of_changes_a_140px son_of_man_140px world_inside_the_140px second_trip_the_140px
Up the Line (1969) Tower of Glass (1970) A Time of Changes (1971) Son of Man (1971) The World Inside (1971) The Second Trip (1972)
stochastic_man_the_140px shadrach_in_the_furnace_140px tom_o-bedlam_140px face_of_the_waters_the_140px hot_sky_at_midnight_140px
The Stochastic Man (1975) Shadrach in the Furnace (1976) Tom O'Bedlam (1985) The Face of the Waters (1991) Hot Sky at Midnight (1994)

View all books by Robert Silverberg