Jack Vance

Link to Author site

11 people recommend this author
Log in or register to recommend books


Jack Vance (1916 - 2013)
Jack Vance was born in 1916 and studied mining, engineering and journalism at the University of California. During the Second World War he served in the merchant navy and was torpedoed twice. He started contributing stories to the pulp magazines in the mid 1940s and published his first book, The Dying Earth, in 1950. Among his many books are The Dragon Masters, for which he won his first Hugo Award, Big Planet, The Anome, and the Lyonesse sequence. He has won the Hugo, Nebula and World Fantasy Awards, amongst others, and in 1997 was named a Grand Master by the Science Fiction Writers of America. He died in 2013.


Link to Author page on SFE

Essential reading

Wondering where to start with Jack Vance? Gateway recommends beginning with the SF Masterworks - which have been selected to showcase the greatest works of modern science fiction - and then moving on to the Gateway Essentials . . .


emphyrio_200px night_lamp_200px
Emphyrio (1969) Night Lamp (1996)



Dying Earth

dying_earth_the_140px cugel_the_clever_140px
The Dying Earth (1950) Cugel the Clever (1966)

Demon Princes

killing_machine_the_140px palace_of_love_the_140px face_the_140px book_of_dreams_the_140px
The Killing Machine (1964) The Palace of Love (1964) The Face (1979) The Book of Dreams (1981)


suldrun-s_garden_140px green_pearl_the_140px madouc_140px
Suldrun's Garden (1983) The Green Pearl (1985) Madouc (1989)

Planet of Adventure

chasch_the_140px wannek_the_140px dirdir_the_140px pnume_the_140px
The Chasch (1968) The Wannek (1969) The Dirdir (1969) The Pnume (1970)

Other Titles

clarges_140px big_planet_140px languages_of_pao_the_140px dragon_masters_and_other_stories_the_140px moon_moth_and_other_stories_the_140px
Clarges (1956) Big Planet (1957) The Languages of Pao (1958) The Dragon Masters and Other Stories (1963) The Moon Moth and Other Stories (1965)
blue_world_the_140px anome_the_140px trullion-_alastor_2262_140px maske-_thaery_140px araminta_station_140px
The Blue World (1966) The Anome (1973) Trullion: Alastor 2262 (1973) Maske: Thaery (1976) Araminta Station (1987)

View all books by Jack Vance