Sean Williams

Link to Author site

2 people recommend this author
Log in or register to recommend books


Sean Williams (1967 - )
Author of seventy published short stories and twenty-nine novels, nominated for the Ditmar, the Aurealis and the prestigious Philip K Dick Award for Saturn Returns, Williams has been published around the world in numerous languages, on-line, and in spoken word editions. His works include Astropolis, a gothic-noir gender-bending space opera trilogy, and The Broken Land, a dark fantasy series for children set in the same fantasy universe as The Books of Change. He has also written the novelization of the computer game Star Wars: The Force Unleashed, which debuted at #1 on the New York Times bestseller list. Magic Dirt: the Best of Sean Williams was launched in 2008 and won the first Aurealis Award for Best Collection. Sean's science fiction has been likened to that of the "Three Gregs" (Benford, Bear and Egan) while his fantasy has garnered comparisons to Peter Carey, China Miéville and Ursula K. Le Guin. His novel The Crooked Letter was the first fantasy novel in the history of Australian speculative fiction to win both Ditmar and Aurealis Awards.


Link to Author page on SFE

Essential reading

The Prodigal Sun (with Shane Dix) (1999)
Evergence: Book One

The Stone Mage and the Sea (2001)
Books of the Change: Book One

The Crooked Letter (2004)
Books of the Cataclysm: Book One - Not Available from SF Gateway

Saturn Returns (2007)
Astropolis: Book One - Not Available from SF Gateway

View all books by Sean Williams