• Welcome to the SF Gateway!

    Welcome to the SF Gateway!

    Thousands of classic SF and Fantasy titles are available once more . . . through the SF Gateway.

  • Cassini Titan Rings

    All the worlds of time and space await ...

    Return to the golden age of SF, when the solar system was but a stepping stone, and sometimes even the galaxy wasn't enough . . .

  • Spaceship

    Site Navigation

    For best navigation of the SF Gateway website, we recommend Firefox, Safari or Chrome.

  • Haldeman_AotM

    Author of the Month

    October's Author of the Month is the multiple Hugo and Nebula Award-winning author of The Forever War, Joe Haldeman.
  • issue_at_hand_the_140px

    New Book of the Week

    The first collection of the razor-sharp criticism of William Atheling, Jr - better know to the SF world as James Blish.
  • Space_Merchants_SFM

    SF Masterwork of the Week

    Frederik Pohl & C.M. Kornbluth's classic satirical dissection of capitalism run amok (print only)
  • tarzan_at_the_earth-s_core_and_other_tales_140px

    SF Gateway Omnibus of the Week

    Contains Tarzan at the Earth's Core, Tarzan the Invincible and four more tales of the Lord of the Jungle.


SFE: The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction

Joe Haldeman

Joe Haldeman (Born 1943) is a US writer who took a BSc in physics and astronomy before serving as a combat engineer in Vietnam (1968-1969), where he was severely wounded, earning a Purple Heart; later, in 1975, he took an MFA. This range of degrees was an early demonstration of the range of interests that have shaped the Hard SF with which he has sometimes been identified; his experiences in Vietnam have in fact marked everything he has written, including his first book, War Year (1972), a non-sf novel set there, and the concurrently drafted (though much delayed) 1968 (1994).

More about Joe Haldeman